Skip to content ↓

At Key Stage 3 Information Technology skills are actively taught within individual curriculum areas and during specialist ICT lessons. The aim is to provide pupils with skills and awareness of software that will support their GCSE subjects. The school's LAN provides an integrated system for teaching, studying and administration throughout the Junior and Senior Schools.

ICT and Computing is taught up to Year 9 and elements of the new computing curriculum introduce and develop understanding of topics such as programming languages, use of software and the components of computers. ICT can then be followed to KS4 and KS5 as we offer the BTEC Levels 2 and 3 in ICT, as well as GCSE and A Level Computer Science.

Pupils have access to networked PCs in specialist computer suites, as well as the following provision:

  • A personal account which can access the student resources library
  • A school e-mail address
  • Access to specific ICT lessons on the network
  • Controlled access to the Internet for research purposes
  • Filtering software
  • Access to the school's remote desktop from home

There is a variety of software which pupils are able to use and begin to master, including Microsoft Office applications, Photoshop, Gimp, Muvizu, Sketchup 3D, Kaz, Scratch, Turtle Logo and Python language.

ICT BTEC Level 2 (KS4)

The BTEC Firsts in Information and Creative Technology have been developed to inspire and enthuse learners to become technology savvy – to become producers of technology – and computer-based products and systems, rather than just consumers of them. This involves learners creating technology-based products or systems. The new title of the qualifications (from ‘information technology’) reflects the emphasis on the creativity required by learners to create/develop products or systems. It also acknowledges the convergence of creative arts-based disciplines and IT/computing, in areas such as digital animation and computer games.

       The BTEC philosophy of learning through doing remains at the heart of the qualification. Learners will be given opportunity to gain knowledge of and a broad understanding of the skills required in the information technology (IT) sector and some aspects of the creative industries, e.g. computer games development.

Pupils at Farringtons School will be assessed through examination and coursework. One unit is assessed by an external examination which is sat in Year 10.  The BTEC Level 2 is equivalent to one GCSE.

The core units include:

  • Unit 1: The Online World (external examination)
  • Unit 3: A Digital Portfolio (internal coursework)

The final unit will be decided by the Teacher based on the needs of the class

Further information can be found on the Pearson website:


IT BTEC Level 3 (KS5)

The QCF BTEC Level 3 Diploma in IT is equivalent to 2 A Levels and students study twelve units over two years: 100% coursework.


The units studied at Level 3 are:

Unit 1: Communication and Employability Skills for IT

Unit 2: Computer Systems

Unit 3: Information Systems

Unit 4: Impact of the Use of IT on Business Systems

Unit 8: E commerce

Unit 9: Computer Networks

Unit 10: Communication Technologies

Unit 17: Project Planning with IT

Unit 28: Website Production

Unit 33: Supporting Business Activity

Unit 34: Business Resources

Unit 42: Spreadsheet Modelling

The twelve units of this course are spread over two years which allows students time to complete their coursework to the highest standard. 

Further information can be found on the Pearson website:

GCSE Computer Science (KS4)

Why study Computer Science?

Computer technology is continuously advancing rapidly and the way that technology is consumed has also been changing at a fast pace over recent years. The growth in the use of mobile devices and web-related technologies has resulted in new challenges for employers and employees. For example, businesses today require an ever-increasing number of technologically-aware individuals. This is even more so in the gaming, mobile and web related industries and this specification has been designed with this in mind.  GCSE Computer Science course gets students working with real-world, practical programming techniques that give them a good understanding of what makes technology work.  The AQA GCSE Computer Science full course is assessed in Year 11% through two examinations. 

Subject content for Computer Science.

  1. Fundamentals of algorithms
  2. Programming
  3. Fundamentals of data representation
  4. Computer systems
  5. Fundamentals of computer networks
  6. Fundamentals of cyber security
  7. Ethical, legal and environmental impacts of digital technology on wider society, including
  8. Issues of privacy
  9. Aspects of software development

Entry requirements: 

Good Mathematics and problem solving skills – Level 7 Maths.

A Level Computer Science (KS5)

Prior knowledge:

All pupils need to have completed a Computer Science GCSE course and have a good understanding of Python programming language.

Course Summary

This course encourages problem-solving and promotes computational thinking in ways that inspire creativity.  This course focuses on the knowledge, skills and understanding that students need to progress either to higher education or to the workplace. 




  • AS Paper 1 – on-screen exam:  1 hour 45 minutes (50% of AS)
  • AS Paper 2 – written exam:  1 hour 30 minutes (50% of AS)
  • A Level Paper 1 – on-screen exam:  2 hours 30 minutes (50% of A Level)
  • A Level Paper 2 – written exam:  2 hours 30 minutes (50%% of A Level)